VK2 Notes July 2013

Tim Mills VK2ZTM vk2ztm@wia.org.au

The next Foundation course and assessments to be conducted by ARNSW will later this month. The Foundation course will be over the weekend of Saturday the 20 th and Sunday the 21 st July. 8.30 am start both days. Assessments for all license grades on Sunday the 21 st from 9 am. The location is the VK2WI site at 63 Quarry Road, Dural. Bookings for both the course and assessments are required by an email to education@arnsw.org.au

Some of the activities in VK2 over the next few weeks include – The WICEN NavShield over the weekend 6 th and 7 th July. The Waverley ARS will hold their annual auction at their Rose Bay club rooms on Saturday morning the 6 th July. The Hunter Radio Group hold a Ladies night twice a year. This year they have decided that its too cold for the July event so they will hold the 'Ladies Night' with a lunch on Saturday the 13 th at Cardiff. Sunday the 28 th July is busy with the AWA Centenary reunion at Burwood, The Albury / Wodonga field day in Lavington and the Bi-monthly Trash and Treasure at VK2WI. The Illawarra ARS was unable to hold a June meeting due to building maintenance at the hall. They will be back there for the July meeting on the 9 th.

In August Oxley Region ARC will have their AGM on Saturday the 3 rd. Summerland ARC will have SARCFEST Sunday the 11 th at Richmond Hill and September the 15 th will be Westlakes field day at the club room. Waverley ARS will hold their next Foundation weekend on September 7 th and 8 th. They held their AGM in May with no change in committee positions.

In early May the Blue Mountains ARC held their AGM with Richard VK2BO President; Alf VK2YAC Secretary and Carl VK2HRC as Treasurer. They advise that they will not be holding a Winterfest field day this year. In late May the Hornsby and District ARC held their AGM with little change in the major positions. John VK2ZOI is again President; Rod VK2DAY Vice President; Bob VK2ZRM Secretary; Andrew VK2TAN is Treasurer and Peter VK2TTP a committee member. A new committee member this year is Colin VK2JCC. 73 – Tim VK2ZTM.